Biblical Counseling and the Church

Biblical Counseling and the Church edited by Bob Kellemen and Kevin Carson is a valuable resource for anyone seeking to implement biblical counseling into the life of the local church.

This first section of this book is directed more towards those who bear the responsibility of pastoral ministry in the local church. The various authors seek to demonstrate the vital importance of biblical counseling to areas such as preaching of the word, private ministry, and other areas dealing with pastoral oversight. The second section addresses incorporating biblical counseling into various small group settings. The third section demonstrates the interconnectedness of biblical counseling and church disciple and conflict resolution. The fourth section deals with equipping and implementing biblical counseling in various contexts and the details involved. The fifth section deal with biblical counseling issues beyond the walls of the church in outreach, parachurch, and the academy. The final section addresses the biblical counseling movements overall future.

This book is an expansive resource with material that would be beneficial for any level of leadership in any size church. I think the chapter on counseling in a “smaller church” is especially helpful. I myself have been challenged by my need to continue to grow in my counseling skills. I would recommend this book to any pastor or leader in the local church.

Disclosure: I received this book free from from the publisher for providing this review. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html

One thought on “Biblical Counseling and the Church

  1. I enjoy reading the reviews. They make me think more about a Pastor’s job a lot more then I ever have. They make me think more about my on relationship with the Lord and the Church I attend

Leave a Reply

