Review of Dude’s Guide to Marriage

Of the writing of marriage books there is no end. One of the latest entries to this ever growing category is Dude’s Guide to Marriage by Darrin and Amie Patrick.

I came to this book with high expectations as I have a great deal of respect for Darrin Patrick and his work in the area of church planting. Unfortunately I find myself frustrated as this did not meet those expectations.

The greatest weakness to this book is that it seems to be more rooted in the author’s experience and what the author has gleaned from other marriage books. I find this a weakness in the book the places it below other marriage books such as Alistair Begg’s and Matt Chandler’s. It is only at the very end of the book where Ephesians 5 is addressed which is odd given how foundational the passage is for understanding marriage in light of the gospel. I think his appendix also shows a weakness of the church in regards to counseling, whereas the New Testament model is believers counseling and encourage one another in areas such as marriage whereas what is recommended is seeking “professional” counseling as opposed to biblical counseling. Which might explain why there doesn’t seem to be a clear prioritization of what the Scripture teaches in regards to marriage.

While the book wasn’t terrible it definitely won’t be one I recommend to other couples as there are other books out there that give the same practical advice while giving greater priority to the Bible.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through the BookLook Bloggers program  for providing this review. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.

Leave a Reply

